What on Earth will I be doing in Iceland?

What will I be doing in Iceland? I’m so glad you asked! I will mostly be working at the bed and breakfast hosting, cleaning, and cooking; I will also garden a little, as well. I don’t really have a green thumb; I’m praying I don’t kill Alda’s plants. After deciding to work for Alda, she told me I will be volunteering for this huge documentary festival that the town hosts. It was nominated as one of the best cultural events in Iceland last year, and I am very excited to be able to participate. I am interested in the wardrobe/ costuming aspect of film and can’t wait to see how the documentarians and film crews use wardrobe with their varying budget levels.

Besides working 5 hours five days a week, I have some personal tasks I will be working on as well. Firstly, and most importantly, I will be blogging about culture and people from an anthropological standpoint. I know you’re saying, “But Jamey, you have a philosophy degree, not an anthropology degree, do you even know how to focus on this?” The short answer is no. The long answer is the first time I started on my Masters degree, it was in Intercultural Studies and focused on missionology and religion. Although that lasted a whopping fortnight, I still have my textbooks and will be taking one with me. It is “Introducing Cultural Anthropology: A Christian Perspective” by Brian M. Howell and Jenell Williams Paris. There are twelve chapters and I will be using the study guide for each chapter as a prompt for my blog. I hope to be able to complete the whole book, but I may focus on specific chapters depending on how much time I have.

My plans for my down time includes continuing to train for my triathlon at the gym and pool, reading Bleak House by Charles Dickens, and spending time on the shores. I just found out today that the coffee shop is called House of Pirates, so I will most likely be writing and reading from there. Just thinking about sitting in a coffee shop in a cold, rainy town on the shores of Iceland reading Bleak House just gives me goosebumps.

What do you think?

