Breaching the Comfort Zone

10421495_10154220676103989_6704435177403955618_n

God asks me to get outside of my comfort zone and trust Him all of the time. For many people, that comfort zone is their community. I know countless missionaries who were terrified to leave the comfort of their own culture. For me that isn’t an issue. I’ll go wherever and I have stories to prove it.

My comfort zone is being financially secure. For me, money is my ticket to anywhere I want to be and to be deprived of that freedom is terrifying. As my bank account begins to dwindle, I am getting antsy. Even when I was working full-time, it was hard for me to part with money. Whether it be toward a missionary’s fundraiser or even going out to dinner, it was difficult. Now that I don’t have such a nice cushion, it’s even harder for me to give. And so God uses this struggle to help me grow.

Our comfort zones are opportunities to have faith and go on an adventure with God. Whenever I tithe or give to a good cause, I am showing God how much I trust Him. I let go, I give up my control, and I return the blessing He has given. And I trust that He will continue to supply my needs as He has done this whole time.

Remember this—a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop. But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop. You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.” -2 Cor. 9:6-7 NIV

Give, and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full—pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back. -Luke 6:38 NIV

What do you think?

