Am I George Bailey?

GeorgeBailey

I’m sitting here working on my script for my next show, “It’s a Wonderful Life.” I need to have it done by tomorrow and it’s getting late, but I just need to stop and sigh. So here is my sigh:

Am I George Bailey?

*Spoiler Alert* George has all of these grand plans of education and world travel, but when life happens, he finds he is a middle-aged man with a family, working in a small business in the small town he swore he would escape from.

I worry that I am George Bailey. I worry that I will miss the opportunity to have an adventurous life filled with opportunities and excitement. Instead, I will stay here in my small town and live an uneventful life where I work in the theatre and travel only on vacation.

My friends and sister tell me to get out of Dodge and move to a city where I will have opportunities in theatre and in life. I could meet interesting people (people here are boring, obviously), have my pick of entertainment (it’s either the bowling alley or the movies here), and most importantly, find a handsome Christian man who is educated and cultured (the last decent man ran off with the circus).

I’m being facetious, of course, (or am I?) but it really does make me wonder what I want to do and where I want to go. Right now, my small town is perfect for my needs. It’s cheap, safe, and I’m able to get more theatre experience in my own wonderful theatre. I am pretty introverted and would rather stay home and crochet or read a book than go out on the town in my free time. I have opportunities here in the newspaper office and in my theatre. If I get my MFA and become a teacher at the college, I could have summers off and be able to travel more. This is a safe place to raise a family (assuming I get a mail-order husband) and I like it.

I could go on and on bemoaning my situation but I’ll just make two points and get back to work on my script. Firstly, my mentor at the university where I took costuming told me she doesn’t trust people who have their whole lives planned out. I’ve taken that to heart and try to be more flexible with my short and long-term goals. You never know where life is going to take you; might as well be open to adventure. Secondly, we’re not put on earth to be entertained. This is our mission field as Christians and our goal is to share the light of Christ. I’m fairly certain that my small town needs Jesus just as much as anywhere.

So really, it doesn’t matter if I move away or stay here. I have opportunities for my career and for my life mission either way. So whether I stay or go, I do think I will be happy with my decision. So there’s no reason to worry. George Bailey or not.

What do you think?

