Halfway Across The World

Welcome to my first #tbt post! Since I haven’t been traveling I figured I would take you all back in time to pre-blogdom.

I like the “On This Day” tab of my Facebook. It’s great fun to see what I was up to. Three years ago this week, coincidently, I announced that I was going to Thailand. That happened to be what I was going to write my first #tbt about.

Getting to Asia is as close to torture I have been thus far in my first-world life. The flight in a very cramped seat for… 15 hours? 19? I can’t remember… and waking up to vomit every hour like clockwork really wore me out. Combine that, dehydration, and an absolute repulsion of Thai food (It’s not personal. It’s my stomach.) made the trip very difficult. What I experienced there, though, made up for it.

We went to schools in two different areas near Bangkok. We brought a clown and shared American culture and language to the youth. We also shared the gospel.  Sharing the gospel in Asia was very cool. Since they believe in many gods, they didn’t immediately dismiss Jesus. Instead, they were curious about who He was and is, and how He somehow trumped their gods. The faith shown by everyone, not just the children, was astonishing. We believe in the Holy Spirit and divine healing, and the healings which we saw were amazing. The Bible talks about the deaf hearing and the blind seeing. Well, let me just tell you that, with faith, anything is possible.

I’ll never forget the wonderful, beautiful Thai people and their amazing faith.

 

What do you think?

